Why are planned repairs - ineffective?

Maintenance and repair of equipment are important for the operation of the company: firstly, it is these processes that determine the service life, reliability and efficiency of the equipment, and secondly, repair jobs that involve the replacement of individual parts or units require considerable resources. Many enterprises use the method of planned preventive repair - after a statistically determined period, are replaced parts, which tend to wear out. However, how much is such repair effective?

Studies have shown that on the use of any equipment in any enterprise, there are only 6 scenarios for the failure of this equipment. Graphically, all these scenarios can be depicting as follows: if we plot the probability of equipment failure on the vertical axis and the time (life cycle) of the equipment operation on the horizontal axis, we get the following picture, which displays 6 scenarios of equipment failure.

A. Equipment is out of order either at the beginning of its using period or at the end
B. Equipment fails at the end of the using period
C. The reliability of the equipment is constantly deteriorating, it can fail at any time, but the older it is, the greater the probability of its breakage.
D. The equipment exactly does not fail at the beginning of using. The probability of failure at any other time is constant.
E. The probability of equipment failure is the same, regardless of the equipment's time of using.
F. If the equipment does not fail at the beginning of its using, then the probability of failure at any other time is constant.

The above graphs allow us to draw several important conclusions. If the equipment will fail under scenario A, B or C, then planned preventive repair, which is carring out by most companies, can effectively prevent equipment breakdown. However, in the case of scenarios D, E or F, the method planned preventive repair is inappropriate, since it only leads to additional costs of resources, without affecting the reliability of the equipment and its durability.
This is because not always the theoretical term of service of components corresponds to the actual one, and the details must be replacing not based on the anticipated planned wear, but based on their actual state. The British scientist Conrad Hal Waddington was first who came to this conclusion and applied a new maintenance concept to the B-24 bombers of the Royal Air Force of Great Britain during the Second World War. Thanks to the application of the new approach, it was possible not only to reduce the amount of time and means needed to repair and maintain aircraft, but also to increase their reliability.

RCM

The new approach to servicing was called RCM - Reliability-Centered Maintenance. It was gradually adopted by all leading industrial enterprises, because proving to be effective both in cost savings and in ensuring the reliability of the serviced mechanisms.

The argument for the adoption of RCM as a more effective approach to service was the analysis of statistics of failure of different nodes, assembles, which was conducted in their time by the companies Bromberg, United Airlines and even by the US Navy. Statistics showed that out of the existing 6 scenarios breakdowns of mechanisms, certain scenarios have a much higher frequency than others.

RCM
Отказы по моделям

After receiving this information, it was suggested to compare the frequency of the scenarios with the possibility of their prevention with the help of the planned preventive repair. The data obtained were as follows.

As can be seen from the info graphics, for all companies the probability of equipment failure under the scenarios F, E and D was an absolute majority. Taking into account these data, a decision was made to refuse the implementation of the planned preventive repair and to transition to RCM-maintenance. Conducting the planned preventive repair was not only more costly, but also ineffective: on average, only 20% of the malfunctions could be eliminated even before their manifestation with the help of the planned preventive repair.

Thus, the world's leading enterprises began to abandon the planned preventive repair in the 70's, and today RCM-maintenance is the most progressive and effective approach for any manufacturing enterprise.

PPR

Почему плановые ремонты - неэффективны?

Обслуживание и ремонт оборудования имеют важное значение для работы предприятия: во-первых, во многом именно эти процессы определяют срок эксплуатации, надежность и эффективность оборудования, а во-вторых, ремонтные работы, подразумевающие замену отдельных запчастей или узлов, требуют немалых средств. Многие предприятия используют метод плановых ремонтов - после определенного промежутка времени, установленного статистически, происходит замена деталей, которые имеют тенденцию к изнашиванию. Однако насколько такой ремонт является эффективным?

Исследования показали, что при использовании любого оборудования на любом предприятии существует всего 6 сценариев выхода этого оборудования из строя. Графически все эти сценарии можно изобразить следующим образом: если по вертикальной оси мы будем откладывать вероятность выхода оборудования из строя, а по горизонтальной — время его работы (жизненный цикл), то получим следующую картину, которая отображает 6 сценариев выхода оборудования из строя.

А. Оборудование выходит из строя либо в начале своего периода службы, либо в конце
B. Оборудование выходит из строя в конце периода службы
C. Надежность оборудования постоянно ухудшается, оно может выйти из строя в любой момент, но чем оно старше, тем больше вероятность его поломки
D. Оборудование точно не выйдет из строя в начале службы. Вероятность выхода из строя в любое другое время – одинакова.
E. Вероятность выхода оборудования из строя одинакова, вне зависимости от времени службы оборудования.
F. Если оборудование не выйдет из строя в начале службы, то вероятность выхода из строя в любое другое время – одинаковая.

Приведенные графики позволяют сделать несколько важных выводов. Если оборудование будет выходить из строя по сценарию А, B или С, то планово-предупредительные ремонты (ППР), которые проводятся большинством компаний, могут эффективно предотвратить поломку оборудования. Но в случае со сценариями D, E или F метод ППР не подходит, поскольку приводит только к дополнительным затратам ресурсов, никак не влияя на надежность оборудования и его долговечность.
Это вызвано тем, что не всегда теоретический срок эксплуатации компонентов соответствует фактическому, и детали следует менять не на основе предполагаемого планового износа, а основываясь на их фактическом состоянии. Впервые к такому выводу пришел Британский ученый Конрад Хэл Уоддингтон, применивший новую концепцию обслуживания к бомбардировщикам B-24 Королевских военно-воздушных сил Великобритании во время Второй мировой войны. Благодаря применению нового подхода удалось не только сократить количество времени и средств, необходимых для ремонта и обслуживания самолетов, но также повысить их надежность.

RCM

Новый подход к обслуживанию получил название RCM — Reliability-Centered Maintenance — обслуживание на основании надежности, и стал постепенно перениматься всеми ведущими промышленными предприятиями, доказав свою эффективность как в экономии средств, так и в обеспечении надежности обслуживаемых механизмов.

Аргументом в пользу принятия RCM как более эффективного подхода к обслуживанию стал анализ статистики выхода из строя разных узлов и агрегатов, который в свое время провела и компания Bromberg, и авиакомпания United Airlines, и даже Военно-морские силы США. Статистика показала, что из существующих 6 сценариев поломки механизмов, определенные сценарии имеют намного большую частоту, чем другие.

RCM
Отказы по моделям

После получения этой информации, было предложено сопоставить частоту сценариев с возможностью их предотвращение с помощью ППР. Полученные данные выглядели следующим образом.

Как видно из инфографики, для всех компаний вероятность выхода оборудования из строя по сценариям F, E и D составила абсолютное большинство. Учитывая эти данные, было принято решение об отказе от проведения ППР и переходе на RCM-обслуживание. Проведение ППР оказалось не только более затратным, но еще и малоэффективным: в среднем, только 20% неполадок могло быть устранено еще до их проявления с помощью ППР.

Таким образом, ведущие мировые предприятия начали отказываться от ППР еще в 70-х годах, и сегодня RCM-обслуживание является самым прогрессивным и эффективным подходом для любого производственного предприятия.

PPR